Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Log Cabin Republicans Minnesota
Action Alerts
Home
Get Involved!
About Us
LCR-MN PAC
Action Alerts
Press Releases
Club News
Links
Contact Us

Marriage Ban Bill Returns


This year's version of the bill for a constitutional amendment has already been submitted. We arenot sure about the Senate.... but it has to be coming soon.

If you go to www.house.mn, and enter HF6 on the left hand side of the home screen, you can find all of the information about the bill. The proposed amendment also prohibits legal equivalents of marriage (I.e. civil unions).

So far, 5 people have signed on as authors.

Mary Liz Holberg, elected in 1998, from Lakeville. She authored the 04 version.

Paul Gazelka, elected in 2004, from Brainerd. In his bio information, it says he's an Oral Roberts University grad;

Dan Severson, elected in 2002, from Sauk Rapids

Sondra Erickson, elected in 1998, from Princeton

Jeff Johnson, elected in 2000, from Plymouth

The bill has been referred to the Civil Law and Elections committee, which is chaired by one of the authors (Jeff Johnson).

The website does not indicate when the bill will get a hearing, but be assured that it will.

It's very important to take action NOW, especially contacting members of the Civil Law Committee (listed below). Every committee member of either party who hears this bill needs to know about your opposition.

Remember, everything you need to know comes from the www.house.mn website. The senate version is called a href="www.senate.mn">www.senate.mn. Educate yourself now, so that you can track bills and votes through the session. It's critical that we be able to respond quickly. Even if a legislator doesn't read very single letter/e-mail, their staff keeps a tally of positive and negative feedback.

Chair: Jeff Johnson (R) 296-5511 rep.jeff.johnson@house.mn

Vice Chair: Chris DeLaForest (R) 296-4231 rep.chris.delaforest@house.mn

Lead-DFL: Nora Slawik (DFL) 296-7807 rep.nora.slawik@house.mn

Laura Brod (R) 296-4229 rep.laura.brod@house.mn

Matt Dean (R) 296-3018 rep.matt.dean@house.mn

Keith Ellison (DFL) 296-8659 rep.keith.ellison@house.mn

Tom Emmer (R) 296-4336 rep.tom.emmer@house.mn

Bill Hilty (DFL) 296-4308 rep.bill.hilty@house.mn

John Lesch (DFL) 296-4224 rep.john.lesch@house.mn

Peter Nelson (R) 296-5377 rep.peter.nelson@house.mn

Steve Simon (DFL) 296-9889 rep.steve.simon@house.mn

Torrey Westrom (R) 296-4929 rep.torrey.westrom@house.mn

All phone numbers are in the 651 area code.

Enter supporting content here